You Won’t Regret Reading This!

This week I read an article about a nurse, Bronnie Ware, who counseled the dying and revealed their most common regrets in the book The Top Five Regrets of the Dying. To save you the time, here’s the list:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

After reading the article, I asked myself “Are any of these my greatest regrets so far?” The honest answer is no. Here’s why.

Currently, I live the life I want to live. When people have expectations for my life and say things like “You should be {insert random comment here}.” Typically, my response is “Why do you care? It’s my life not yours.” The answer is people tend to expect more from others than they do from themselves. Here’s an idea, how about those people focus on their life, not someone else’s.  

I like my job and people who enjoy their work don’t mind the hard work. In many cases hard work leads to self-improvement. Why would anyone regret improving their life? People who regret working hard are people who are not doing what they love to do. 

When it comes to having the courage to express my feelings, I have no regrets. If anything I could probably scale back on self expression. At times, I can be too honest, straightforward or blunt. Words can offend people but something certain things need to be said. 

Nowadays, social media sites like Facebook and Twitter allow people to stay in touch with friends. If people don’t stay in touch then that friendship probably ran its course anyway.

Regrets about happiness can be tricky because happiness is relative. For instance, some people love to run so a 10 miler would make them happy. On the flipside, 10 miles jog may sound miserable to a non-runner.  

There’s nothing wrong with having regrets. But in my opinion, which I don’t regret giving, people shouldn’t spend so much time worrying about regrets. Whether it was a missed love connection, a bad tattoo (i.e. the name of your ex), or a one-night stand, those things happen for a reason. Instead of having regrets, let things go. Learn from mistakes, be adventurous, and don’t hold back.

Here is another list for you, it’s a few things you can do to live life with no regrets:

1. Follow your own path

2. Do the things you love to do

3. Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.

4. Face your fears, they aren’t as tough as you may think.

5.  Don’t let anyone or anything hold you back.

Practice these things and see where life takes you. Regretfully, that’s all I have to say.

 

What’s your greatest regret so far, and what will you set out to achieve or change before you die? Leave a comment.

 

 

2 thoughts on “You Won’t Regret Reading This!

  1. My greatest regret so far was not looking after myself properly. I have watched others suffer from illnesses and regrets with jobs and education so I have been more focused on my happiness and my health (eating right and exercising regularly).
    Great post! =)

  2. My greatest regret is letting someone else make me think less of myself, and not do what i wanted to do. I got too caught up in pleasing others that it made me miserable. Not doing that again!

Leave a Reply

