Happy Holidays away from home

“Family is where life begins and love never ends”

Tis the season for gifts under the tree, family dinners with drunk relatives and fond memories of Christmases past. For most Americans, Dec. 25th is a day to enjoy traditional celebrations with loved ones.

Over the past 8 years, I’ve spent most Christmases and other holidays away from family – working. While banks, government offices and other professions close for the day, television news shows must go on!  So each Christmas Day, TV crews across the country head to work with promises of a catered meal paid for by the bosses. Merry Christmas!!!

IMG_3003
My sister, brother and Uncle Gene celebrating Christmas in the late-80’s

By now, I’ve gotten used to holidays without my father and sister around which is why I treat trips home as if they were Christmas, Thanksgiving, birthdays, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and other celebrations all rolled into one. For me, every day I spend with my family has become like Christmas. I see them once every month or so. We share hugs, say prayers and “I love yous”, eat meals together and have fun. During some trips home we also have disagreements. But we make sure they are resolved before I leave.

Some people have asked, “Do you get sad being away from family during the holidays”. My honest answer is no. I’ve chosen this lifestyle which includes a profession where you live like a nomad – moving from one place to another. It has taught me to better appreciate family and friends and to not take our time together for granted.

This post is not meant to be a pity party. In fact, it’s the exact opposite. I want to show appreciation for a strong support system which includes kindhearted people who invite me to spend holidays with their family. Thank you for your support  – it’s the best Christmas present this girl can receive.

thank you
As a TV reporter, I’ve moved to different places over the years. However, in every city there have been kind people who treated me like family and invited me to their homes when I couldn’t spend holidays with my dad and sister. Those kind gestures mean a lot. Thank You!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

