Run 4 Da Kidz

Let Your Passion Become Your Purpose

As many of you know, running the Boston Marathon was a personal goal that took several years to achieve. We did it! Every moment of that race was well worth the training and dedication it took to get there. After Boston, I wanted to shift from personal goals to finding ways to use my love for running to help a greater cause.

boston finish
Boston Marathon 2017 Finisher’s medal

#Run4DaKidz

The Boys & Girls Club is an organization that is near and dear to my heart. I first became involved with the club when volunteering in Myrtle Beach,South Carolina. It felt fulfilling to help kids improve their reading skills, mentor them and guide them toward achieving their goals.

Now I have an opportunity to connect both my passions; helping children and running. This October I’ll be running the Marine Corps Marathon as part of the Boys & Girls Club of Greater Washington, Fairfax County marathon team. The goal is to raise money for the club while promoting the benefits of living a healthy, active lifestyle. Proceeds from the fundraiser go toward paying for programs and services which includes providing free memberships to active duty and reserve military families.

Eat to Run

This training cycle I plan to focus on nutrition. My goal is to tone up and drop a few pounds before the October 22nd race. Over the next couple of months, I’ll provide posts about eating plans and nutrition tips. I look forward to taking this fitness journey with you! – Brie

 

Leave a comment